YSU Logo Department of Physics
Yobe State University, Damaturu, Nigeria

About The Department


The department came into existence with the establishment of Yobe State University, then (Bukar Abba Ibrahim University) in 2006. On establishment, the department has three (3) academic staff among them one M. Sc. Holder, Mr. Timothy Wada and two B. Sc. holders namely, Mal. Hassan Abdulsalam and Mr. Emeka Livinus Agada. Mr. Timothy Wada served as the first acting head of Department. In addition, the Department also had one (1) administrative staff, two technical staff, and two Youth Corps members. The department started academic activities and first set of students were admitted into degree programme in 2007/2008 academic session.


The philosophy of the department is to impart deep rooted knowledge of Physics to students thereby making it possible for them to acquire appreciable intellectual background and proficiency in Physics. This will in turn develops in them the prowess needed for the applications of fundamental principles of Physics in technology.


• To advance the frontiers of learning and break new grounds through teaching research and the disseminating of knowledge of the highest quality. • To produce high-level manpower that meets the needs and challenges of the twenty-first century.


The aim and objectives of the Department are as follows:  To provide students with a broad and balanced foundation of Physics knowledge and practical skills.  To instil in students a sense of enthusiasm for Physics, and appreciation of its applications in different contexts.  To involve the students in intellectually stimulating and satisfying experience of learning and studying.  To develop in students the ability to apply their knowledge and skills in Physics to the solution of theoretical and practical problems.  To develop in students through an education in Physics a range of transferable skills of value in physics and other areas.  To provide students with knowledge and skills base for further studies in Physics or multi-disciplinary areas involving physics.